Providence Public Library issues

magoldbe

The PPL is apparantly in grave financial trouble and they may close 2/3 of their branch libraries. They are closing my local branch in Olneyville Square.

Ellen Schwartz, an accountant from the South Side who has been very active in the struggle to save the libraries, sent the following letter to the ProJo after taking it upon herself to do some research into the finances of the library, which are public record since the library is a non-profit. Her research does a great job of calling the library out on their public statements. Here's a letter she submitted to the ProJo...

Is the Library Really Broke?

I am a resident of Washington Park and a volunteer tutor with the after school homework club that used to meet at the Washington Park Branch of the Providence Public Library (PPL). When the library informed the residents that it was closing the branch because of structural damage to the building due to an unrepaired leak in the roof, I could see first hand the terrible effect it would have on the neighborhood. I am also a Certified Public Accountant so I decided to take a look at their financial statements to see why they had been too broke to fix the roof.

All non-profit organizations have to file an informational tax return called Form 990 with the Internal Revenue Service. All of the information in this article is from tax forms filed by the PPL, which are open to public inspection, and which are available on the Internet at www.fndcenter.org.