Speed Street

Is it me or does it seem like there are tons more people attending Speed Street today as compared to years past. Especially for a Thursday. I just came back from lunch and the streets uptown are packed with people.

BTW - I think I read that MC Hammer is going to perform? hehe That is hilarious!

I'm not a huge NASCAR fan but I do like that this event is growing!

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Definitely not my bag...but its a great yearly boost for Charlotte in terms of exposure. I went for the first time last year because as a new resident I was curious. It was so slampacked that saturday night you could not move an inch down Tryon there were so many people. I bit too close for comfort me. Nascar fans love it though so good for them and hopefully the new configuration will mean less or at least more manageable congestion.

I hear that the traffic was horrendous this morning, some people had to wait up to an hour just to get into their parking deck. They need to change the traffic situation, but I'm going tommorrow night. Would it be better to park in a deck close in or a surface lot far out?

I find that the Odell building (or is it the church next to it?) works best for parking at night, and since its even further away from the concerts this year, it should be all the better. They say it (the parking) costs money but I have never been there while they were collecting.

A word of advice, avoid Seventh Street Station at all costs!

My friend works at BOA so we just went to his reserved spot. Use your friends wisely this weekend :lol: The lot was farther out and we walked in. I would reccomend that approach its usually nice weather and you are parked ahead of most of the mob.

By closing Church, they really killed traffic. There is no longer a good southbound street other than Church now that Brevard has been cropped by the arena. I wish they had made Speed Street use Brevard and Tryon, with Church and College remaining open.