Downtown living - life style change questions

sojay

downtown living life style change questions  

17 members have voted

1. 1. What activities would you do more if you lived downtown as opposed to suburbia?

• spectator arts (go to concerts, museums, etc)
    • participatory arts (take arts classes, social dancing, choir singing, etc)
    • spectator sports
    • active sports
    • go more to restaurants, bars, clubs
    • frequent coffee shops more often
    • go for walks downtown/greenway
    • participate in community activities (festivals etc)
    • spend less time on commuting
    • watch less TV
    • take classes
    • nothing would change
    • other? (explain)

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've lived in the downtown area for so long I can't remember what I did when I loved in the suburbs. Since I graduated from a suburban high school in 1982 I've only lived in the suburbs for 1 1/2 years of the ensuing 24. 3 years on campus at USC, 1 year off campus at Park Circle, bought a house in East Columbia and sold it after a year because of my dislike of the suburbs; shared a St. Andrews apartment with a friend for a short period of time and then spent 5 years in Cottontown, 8 a few blocks from 5 points and now 5 in Earlewood Park/Keenan Terrace. I can tell everyone right now: I will never live in the suburbs again.

Favorite things to do in-town: dinner in the Vista, Five Points or Devine Street, concerts at Finlay Park, plays at Trustus Theatre, films at the Nickelodeon, Carolina basketball at the Colonial Center and Carolina football just outside downtown at Williams-Brice.