Commuting in Tokyo

robomrsearch

Hello,

I am a Belgian filmmaker doing research for a

documentary series about commuting, called 'Moved 2

Work'. The series visits different locations worldwide

and focusses on commutes that are unusual or extreme

due to demographical/ climatological/ geographical/

socio-economical/political/... circumstances.

I am now trying to gather as much info as possible on

commuters in Tokyo. Alas most sites are in Japanese,

and I do not speak the language. So I am looking for any helpful info on Tokyo commuting:

How do the majority of the commuters travel? What do you

find typical about Tokyo commuting? What would be an

interesting trajectory to take? Etc.

I welcome any info/ link/ contact you can give me on

this subject.

Thank you

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The vast majority of Japanese commuters take public transit and of that, most of it is train travel.

I would suggest looking at the Japan Rail Tokaido line for an excellent example. It starts at Tokyo station and runs down through Yokohama on to points south for about 100km. Keep in mind this is a heavy rail metro style train line with 1000s on each train. It would be a fascinating study. By the way, this is the local line that I am referring too, not the bullet train line that shares the same name. Most of the sites that would mention the Tokaido Line would be referring to the Shinkanzen line which roughly parallels this local express line.

If you have more specific questions I can try to answer or maybe someone else here could help.

• 3 weeks later...