New hotel in downtown Lexington?

georgeglass

From the Herald-leader posted tonight...see below

I thought this was potentially great news for downtown. I do have some major concerns for the hotel project: I would hate to see places like the Dame, Triple Crown Lounge, Busters, and Mia's that add a lot to downtown all be gone for the sake of one hotel. Lets hope this a mutli-use redevelopment and the farmers market gets a permanent home.

http://www.kentucky.com/mld/kentucky/14981518.htm

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

From the Herald-leader posted tonight...see below

I thought this was potentially great news for downtown. I do have some major concerns for the hotel project: I would hate to see places like the Dame, Triple Crown Lounge, Busters, and Mia's that add a lot to downtown all be gone for the sake of one hotel. Lets hope this a mutli-use redevelopment and the farmers market gets a permanent home.

http://www.kentucky.com/mld/kentucky/14981518.htm

I am new to this forum, but live in Lexington and I am extremely interested in highrise and urban architecture and urban development and improvement. In response to your concerns, I would say that they are valid, but the bars you mention are all fairly successful and should be able to re-locate. I can think of several locations where each could move to. Also, that block is a terrible, awful thing to have in the middle of downtown. This block is as close to the geographic center of downtown as you can get and it is currently filled with poorly maintained buildings with no architectural significance and a huge, embarrasing parking lot. I personally think surface lots like this should be banned in the CBD. Anyway, I just hope that the structure is, like you said, mixed use, and that it is atleast 12 stories tall so we can add it to the Emporis website. Lexington has way too few "highrises" for a city of its size. I am glad to find a group of individuals that share the same interest in seeing Lexington becom