GVSU sees +216% increase in just over 10 years

GRDadof3

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That's incredible. I went to GVSU back in the early to mid '80s. I'll bet I wouldn't even recognize the campus now.

I don't recognize the campus, and I graduated in '01. The enrollment has grown by leaps and bounds. As such, campus buildings have as well.

is GVSU still regarded as a local school, or have they started to gather more prestige? Also, are they done expanding the campus or do they have more plans after the engineering school is done?

I think it may be considered a "local" school by those around here. However, I can tell you that very few of my current aquaintances (personal or business) who graduated from GVSU are from the "west side" of the state or even Michigan naitives.

is GVSU still regarded as a local school, or have they started to gather more prestige? Also, are they done expanding the campus or do they have more plans after the engineering school is done?

I think that for the most part it is, but in all reality, unless you are top ten in a field - you are pretty much a local school. At least you have no more weight than a local school in getting your students employed. However, in terms of local schools, its star is definitely on the rise. The last MBA rating I saw had GVSU at top ten in the Midwest - far from nationally prominant, but up there with schools like Purdue, MSU, and Illinois.

I think people are really starting to notice the attention to detail at the school, the outstanding facilities, and the focus on essentials - amazingly there is little waste at GVSU since they recieve so little from the State.

The most amazing part about those growth numbers is that those are the years where they were attempting to slow growth. Honestly, I would like to see GVSU settle into the 30,000 - 35,000 major University slot and start really focusing on their strongest fields.