Grand Rapids Metro Employment at a Glance

This all started because I was thinking about Google and its "pyschological" affect on Michigan's sour mood. Whether any tech companies set up shop in GR just because a Google facility is 2 hours away is a stretch in my mind, but it will certainly get Michigan mentioned more frequently and more positively in tech articles around the country.

Anyway, I started playing around on the BLS (Bureau of Labor Statistics) website. The first interesting interactive map that I came across was this one, showing Michigan as the #1 State in the U.S. in Unemployment drop of -1.2% from Apr - May 06 (which is phenomenal):

188041263_416dff2d53_o.jpg

Of course, you can't judge an economy on a one-month snapshot (like much of the media tends to do), but still thought it was interesting. So I looked at the 12 month map of unemployment change for the U.S., and lo and behold, Michigan was one of the best performing (top 10):

188045091_39cab80dc4_o.jpg

There were States that actually had their unemployment rates rise in the past 12 months, while Michigan's plunged -.08%.

Then I moved on to the Grand Rapids - Wyoming MSA charts. Our MSA has pretty much tracked the nation's employment data, peaking in 03 and trending downward since. Ours fluctuates up and down more due to our market size and month-to-month fluctuations. Another reason why you have to look at long-term trends. (GR - Wyoming on the left/U.S. on the right)

188041260_0695000115_o.jpg188041262_d1b21592a9_o.jpg