The Housing Bubble in Arizona

colin

This article appeared today in the Star:

Tucson No. 7 on Forbes list of overvalued housing cities

Phoenix isn't in the Top 10, which is surprising to me.

This is a long time coming. Housing prices here have gotten totally ridiculous whereas rental rates have only gone up with inflation.

The end is nigh. The bubble will burst very soon. Those 20 million or so California migrants who bought into the "real estate is always a good investment" bs will start selling their properties off like mad within the next year, and we'll soon hear residents' compaints about their property values plummeting and their inability to sell.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I work in the housing industry for on of the largest builders in the nation and Arizona. They are having trouble selling built houses (SPEC), and most cases are giving anywhere from 60,000-120,000 in incentives to buy now.

The market will never run dry, however instead of 10-12 buyers a day in our design center we see 8 on a good day.

I'm not saying that sales will dry up completely, I'm just saying that those who own property solely as an investment are going to panic and flood the market. It may not happen in Phoenix though, which is large enough that it could take the hit.

According to that article, it's already starting to happen with condos, which have been very overpriced in Tucson for several years.

at this point though, the Phoenix area is still gaining residents at a rate faster than almost every other part of the country colin, I would definately thing that this influx of people would offset a housing bubble. Theres still a demand for housing.

I could probably comment on this subject as I am in the trenches all day...

In the height of the boom (May of '05) we had just under 6,000 listings on the market in Greater Phoenix.

Today there are just above 45,000.

This number seems to grow each month.