The 12 Planets

Cotuit

Pluto remains a planet, a double planet at that with its moon, Charon getting bumped up to planet status. Two other planets, Ceres (between Mars and Jupiter) and Xena (beyond Pluto/Charon) get added. What do you think about these new planet, how will you remember their names?

Nine no longer: Panel declares 12 planets [The Boston Globe]

Cosmic Debate: What's Up With the Planets? [NASA.gov]

The IAU draft definition of "planet" and "plutons" [IAU]

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

According to the Hartford Courant, the 2 criterion for being a planet are: must orbit a star but not be a star; and be big enough to be round (over 500 miles in diameter). The first is odd, I'm no expert, but where do stars orbit other stars? Second, why make the cutoff 500 miles in diameter? Why not up it to 1000 miles? I think an object less than 500m/dia isn't generally round, but I don't see the need for it to be the minimum size that allows for a round object. This would exclude Charon and Ceres which are very small, and it would also exclude the 200 some such other objects in the SOlar Sytem that are under review and could eventually be included.

It is a rather interesting development and will take a litte getting used to. I guess consistancy means that Ceres needs to be re-classified. It has been speculated for decades there was a 10th planet but this is the first time I have heard they gave a name to it, Xena. At one point I had heard that it would be named Persephone if it were to be discovered.

There are not any good photos of Pluto. The best photos from the hubble telescope appear as nothing but a bright blob. Hopefully the New Horizons probe will arrive there in working order in 2015 and we get a much better look at what is going on.

Some trivality on Pluto. From January 1979 thru February 11 1999 Pluto was the 8th planet as it's very eliptical orbit moved it inside that of Neptune. That won't happen again until the year 2227.