Some ideas for the North Meadows

paul514

The area around the meadows seems to be very poorly utilized, especially since it is waterfront property. I've thought some condos would go nicely there especially if a light rail link to downtown were to be built. Here are some pictures of what I think the riverfront in that area should looklike. Forgive me if the photos do not come up well, this is my first attempt to post photographs on this site.

220117344_6deef1e74f_o.jpg

Perhaps a monorail link like this one to downtown would be nice too.

220129480_fcc0796db7_o.jpg

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The area around the meadows seems to be very poorly utilized, especially since it is waterfront property. I've thought some condos would go nicely there especially if a light rail link to downtown were to be built. Here are some pictures of what I think the riverfront in that area should looklike. Forgive me if the photos do not come up well, this is my first attempt to post photographs on this site.

220117344_6deef1e74f_o.jpg

Perhaps a monorail link like this one to downtown would be nice too.

220129480_fcc0796db7_o.jpg

I love how this guy thinks!!!!!!!!

It's not Miami, it's my former home Vancouver in Canada. The first pic is the riverfront with a bunch of buildings that were completed in 2005. Some of the land was actually reclaimed from the river. Before there were condos there were just abandoned factories and warehouses. I like to think that the meadows would be perfect for these type of condos since there is nothing quite like it here. I lived in a similar building 2 blocks north and wish there were something like that in Hartford. I think if we had a large development in Hartford like this one that there would be many people who would abandon the suburbs in a heartbeat (myself included). If a peripheral Canadian city with few home offices can revitalise itself I'm sure Hartford can do even better.

Here's a link of just how ugly it was before.