South Carolina Student Retention Survey

RestedTraveler

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Aside from the lack of Midlands representation, I think the report wasn't too far off as it regards the post-graduation plans of our college students. But frankly, I was a bit surprised that Charleston ranked #1 for the city that most would like to relocate to or remain in, in the case of CofC and the Citadel. I would have thought that either Atlanta or Charlotte would have been #1 (especially Atlanta). One thing is for sure: the vast majority of our students plan to remain in the South after graduation.

That doesn't surprise me at all. At USC and even here at Clemson, Charlestonis the most frequent place you hear people say they want to go. the ironic thing is that the professional jobs are not as plentiful as they should be to support this demand... not that that don't exist however.

Personally, as a college student, I want to stay in SC, and Charleston is high on my list of places I want to go...

It is irritating that USC did not participate in that study. That would have definitely impaceted the outcome in some way. I think if they had, Columbia would have had better feedback.

^But I wonder if USC declined to participate or if they were not invited to participate? That's not clear. At any rate, it would have been good to have more support from the Midlands. This study was definitely "top heavy" in terms of regional representation.

I also think they should do a follow-up survey to see where students actually end up after graduation. That would be interesting to see, because I highly doubt that most college graduates move to Charleston, even though that may be their desire. Money talks, and currently Atlanta, Charlotte, Raleigh, DC, etc. offer more of it than any of our cities.