Hauntings?

Beowulf

I guess it was a combination of seeing Halloween stuff in the stores already and watching an episode of Ghosthunters on SciFi tonight that got me thinking about this. Anyone know of any good haunted locations in Greenville? I'm sure with its long history, there have got to be some great ghost stories about the area.

(I don't believe in ghosts, but love a good tale.)

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm interested, too. I suspect there may be some good ghost stories coming from around the Springwood Cemetery. If I recall, wasn't someone conducting haunted walks through Springwood for fundraising a year or so back during halloween time?

I think that was last year.

Now that I think of it, I'm pretty sure I saw a sign on the back of a PediCab recently that read "Ask us about our Ghost Tours"

I was just talking to my wife about this the other day. I remember back during the 80's when I was a student at North Greenville College my room mate and some other people went up to the top of Paris Mountain ('m not sure if it was the park section or the section with the radio towers and gated homes) and I was told that it was bad to go up there because their was either a witch's house, satanic church or something similiar) anyway it was told to me that if you got too close to the place the battery in your car would die.

I was also told by my grandmother that some people she knew on the road that goes behind the Kmart near the Memorial Hospital had a house that would haunted and people in it would often see a shadowy figure at the foot of the bed or in the garden at night.

When I was a younger I was a scout who attended and later was on the staff at Camp Old Indain where I heard many stories about the place. Not sure how many were original to the place but as someone on staff I carried on the tradition when it came to campfires. :whistling: