Colleges and Universities in Tough Neighborhoods

ctman987

Ok so I have been doing some thinking. Currently I am a student at Manhattan College in the Riverdale section of the Bronx. There are very tough neighborhoods in the Bronx, Manhattan College is somewhat at the edge of some of these neighborhoods. The college is also located in Riverdale which is the nicest part of the Bronx and is home to multi-million dollar homes, private schools and the College of Mt St Vincent. The main areas for getting a bite to eat or picking up something at a store around the school are in very diverse and sometimes dangerous neighborhoods but nevertheless you will see hundreds of college students around these establishments each day. Right outside the school is the subway which students use non stop to get into Manhattan

Another example...Trinity College one of the nations leading urban private liberal arts schools is located in the Frog Hollow neighborhood of Hartford, CT. This is not one of Hartford's worst neighborhoods but is a struggling neighborhood but nevertheless the school and students play an integral role in the city and the neighborhood. Trinity is known nationally for the Learning Corridor which is a 175 million dollar project that is on 16 acres and features three magnet schools with specialties in all areas.

There are also major schools that are located in not so great areas such as Temple University in Philadelphia and parts of Columbia University in NYC. So what do people feel about schools like this? I think they are great. If a school is good...or has something that a student wants (and I talk from experience) kids will go there despite there location.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The college's seem to be safe havens in those cities.

When I was applying to colleges, I had two choices on my acceptance list that were in, or around, rough areas: Fordham in the Bronx, New York City, and CUA in Brooklyn, Washington DC.