What exactly is Urban Planning?

Ark

I keep getting small amounts of information off of career sites, but I still don't understand many things. You see, i'm an undergraduate senior although I might as well be called a junior because I spent the last year taking classes that led to dead ends - i'm having an unbelievably horrible time deciding what to do with my life.

Urban planning sounds like an interesting idea - I want to work in a creative field where I can let my imagination flow and while deciding between digital photography or architecture I came across urban planning. Simcity turned me onto the idea of city building and the fact that I live by Detroit has fueled by desire to change that beautiful (architectually) city back to the city it once was and stop what's currently happening to it.

But - I keep going to career counselors who seem to know next to nothing about what to expect. I go to focuscareer.com & careercruising.com everyday to check out career possibilites - but even they say nothing.

Some questions,

1. When sites say things like urban planners deciding the land use of areas - just how indepth does it mean? Can urban planners make proposals about architecture type, road layout, zone layout etc... Can they go as indepth to state the type of planning design? How about Parkways & Churches? Civic buildings? Do they go that indepth? I've heard stuff related to the environment too - how indepth does that go? Can I propose measures for water use? landfills?