Coup in Thailand

Snowguy716

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/5366908.stm

You're not hearing much about this in American media, so I present you something from the BBC.

The military, after saying yesterday that they would be calling for elections within a few weeks, has not proposed a year long transitional period while they can draw up a new constitution and has banned the formation of new political parties and all party activities.

I smell military dictatorship, and it smells rotten.

If this is the case, do you think the United States should pursue action with the U.N and other regional governments to restore democracy?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am no expert on Thai politics and history but my feeling this Coup will not be a huge issue. Thailand has a pretty decent history of democracy...compared to many other countries in the region.

It seems many people did not like President Thaksin. In fact, nobody really resisted.

I did find it interesting that the Thai general who led the Coup is Muslim, in a majority Buddhist country.

The President that was kicked did not have a great human rights record...among other things.

Being a corporate man and having billions...some say Thaksin ran the country like a CEO runs a company.

You're not hearing much about this in American media, so I present you something from the BBC.

The military, after saying yesterday that they would be calling for elections within a few weeks, has not proposed a year long transitional period while they can draw up a new constitution and has banned the formation of new political parties and all party activities.

If this is the case, do you think the United States should pursue action with the U.N and other regional governments to restore democracy?

I find this most troubling. Thailand has traditionally been a voice of reason in a volitile part of the world.