Columbia Riverfront Park

BryCola

I took my bike and camera to Riverfront Park on Saturday morning and took some pics. I started jogging in the park in February, and have come to appreciate how LUCKY we are here in Columbia to have this park and the whole riverfront. I really didn't even know much about the park because you don't hear much about it. But the wildlife is really cool. I've seen 2 deer, a snake, skinks, the SAME white heron everytime I go, and turtles are everywhere. I even saw the same family of Canadian Geese, and watched as the baby geese got bigger every week. The amazing part is that the park is about a mile and a half from Main Steet. I'd like to take some more pics when the leaves start changing. (this is my first attempt at posting pics, so I hope it works.)

Park1.jpg

Park8.jpg

Park11.jpg

Park7.jpg

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Great pictures, thanks! I've been there a couple of times, but not recently. It's a neat feeling to be walking through this lush forest, while the city and dowtown are just blocks away.

Great pics; so pristine. I've got to get over there sometime. I hope all of the planned development for the riverfront doesn't ruin the park's natural charm.

I agree, I hope they have a nice buffer between the park and new developments. A large amount of trees were removed on the West Columbia riverwalk to make way for those million dollars homes. It pretty much ruined the scenery along that part of the walk. :(

I agree, I hope they have a nice buffer between the park and new developments. A large amount of trees were removed on the West Columbia riverwalk to make way for those million dollars homes. It pretty much ruined the scenery along that part of the walk. :(

Doesn't look like those home sites are selling too well. I can't say that I'm disappointed.