Minimum Wage Issues

I was always for the minimum wage increase, and looking forward to it. Now that it's taken effect, my opinions on it have changed. Things are happening that I wouldn't have expected, but I guess I should have.

Where I work at Little Caesars, the company is now refusing to hire anybody over 18, due to the increase. Also, nobody is receiving raises relative to the increase. I'm an assistant manager in the company, was making $7.25, still am making $7.25. Considering all the added stress and work of the position, and having been in the company over 2 years, making 35 cents over minimum wage is NOT worth the work I put into my job anymore.

It isn't just Little Caesar's, either. I was speaking with a manager of a Burger King, and its the same situation there as well. Apparently at burger king an assistant manager just quit because he was making only 5 cents above minimum wage, and the company refused to issue any raises due to the extra costs from the minimum wage increase.

I even heard that the company is considering letting go of various employees over the age of 18 to replace them with 16 year olds.

With one of the biggest employment issues in the state being that of manufacturing job losses, I would imagine a great deal of those people are looking towards businesses such as these for a source of income until they can find something better. Plus there's those who are leaving their jobs due to working extra hard for pay that trainees receive, and those being axed by companies to be replaced with cheaper labour. But if all of these companies are limiting themselves to 16 year olds only now, what's going to happen to employment?

I realise its already said and done and nothing can really change things, but why did the state decide to raise the minimum wage for 18+ only? Why are there no regulations to prevent what's going on now?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply