Improving Life in Downtown Raleigh: What Services, Amenities, and Stores are Needed?

sgpine

Hello!

I am an NCSU Student working on an extended project creating a business proposal that involves developing new properties in downtown Raleigh.

I'm trying to gain a better understanding of the downtown market from several different sources, and one source I am addressing is surveying current and possible future residents of downtown Raleigh.

Below is a survey both for residents and for non-residents. Feel free to either post your responses to the message board, or to e-mail me. My e-mail address is [email protected].

Of course, if there are any questions you are not comfortable answering - by all means don't! :) I'll still be interested in your responses to the other questions.

Also, if you have any questions about my project, have any feedback, or just want to learn more - by all means shoot me an e-mail!

Thanks very much for any help!

Steve Pine

*My definition of downtown is generally East of Park Ave/Ashe Ave, South of Wade Ave/Glascock St, West of Raleigh Blvd, and North (or just South) of Western Blvd/Martin Luther King Blvd. *

For People Currently Living in Downtown Raleigh Only:

1) What Neighborhood do you currently live in? (Glenwood South, Oakwood, East Gateway, Commercial

Core, Boylan Heights, Warehouse District, etc)

2) How long have you been living in downtown Raleigh?

3) What are one or two or three main reasons you decided to move to downtown Raleigh?

4) Do you work downtown?

5) What are one or two or three things you would most like to see change about downtown?

6) What are one or two or three types of businesses you would most like to see open downtown?

7) Would having a grocery store, drug store, or other amenities within walking or biking distance be something that you would consider important to you?

8) How far would you be willing to walk to a grocery store? Bike?