Ruston

rolltide35401

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey I'm a Tech student!!! I hope that this is helpful. :)

A brand new Celebrity Theatre has opened in Ruston, and it is a really nice place to hang out with friends. A Starbucks is also being constructed on Tech Drive. I read in a Tech newpaper that the university is suppose to demolish it's two tall male residential towers, Neilson and Caruthers. As you probably already know, Caruthers close after the hurricane evacues resided there, and Neilson is suppose to close in a year or two. So it should be exciting to see what Tech builds in their places. The university has also built new apartment complexes called The University Park Apartments. They are suppose to build additional apartment buildings, but I'm not sure when they will begin on those. I don't know how long it's been since you've been to Ruston, but there seems to be a little economic development going on here. From what I've seen, there are two hotels being built and a road has been constructed around the theatre where I believe future growth will occur.

I was in Ruston this past weekend. There' are two new hotel's under construction there. A Fairfield Inn right next to the Holiday Inn Express at the Ruston/Farmerville exit. I think it will have 4 or 5 floors. There is also a Sleep Inn being built near the public library.

A brand new Celebrity Theatre has opened in Ruston, and it is a really nice place to hang out with friends. A Starbucks is also being constructed on Tech Drive. I read in a Tech newpaper that the university is suppose to demolish it's two tall male residential towers, Neilson and Caruthers.

I am a bit surprised to hear more hotels are going in. Ruston always seemed to have abundance of rooms, and with Monroe only a half hour away, more units seem unnecessary.

Nevertheless great to hear at least some positive development in my childhood home :) Thanks for the replies guys!