Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Bled_man

What does everyone do for a living?

46 posts in this topic

I searched and didn't find a thread about this so I thought I would ask. I think it helps to get a better picture of the person posting if you know what type of work they do. So I'll start: I'm a structural engineer.

Who's next?? :shades:

I apparently can't be happy doing just one thing so I am a full-time IT Manager, part-time portrait/event photographer, and owner of this great site!

Ex-programmer... never could quite make the transition to the Web. Hated figuring out browser incompatabilities, and Java is such a crummy programming language.

Now I handle budget and productivity calculations for an uptown corp. Hey, I can't complain.... Completing Excel workbooks is easier than coding anyway, it and pays about the same. But knowing SQL and some VB gives me an edge over the pure accounting types. I still get a chuckle when someone asks me how to do something simple, like a LEFT() function in a workbook. :lol: (But that's OK, I didn't know what the paintbrush icon did when I started... heh!)

I also have 2 rentals in Charlotte, that take up about as much time as a "second part-time job" would.

Project Coordinator for a Civil Engineering Firm

Part time barista

Real estate/development/marketing consulting work, design work, project coordinator. One job that mixes and entails all three in addition to managing a team of 22 folks.

Also own a business on the side with partners -- residential construction.

Investment Valuation Analyst with a low-income housing equity investor/debt lendor.

I work in marketing analytics for a large company here (and I'm on the same floor as graydog).

Retired from a large computer company.

Work part time at an elementry school in Charlotte.

Hello, my name is UptownLiving and I am a UP junkie :)

When I am not on here I work full time managing server software for a large global corporation.