What commute / living situation would be ideal?

Divot

I've been reading through this board for a few days now and it's been helpful. I'm currently a young professional living in Southern New Hampshire and I've just been offered a job in Boston however the group in Boston is moving to RI in 12-18 months so I'm kind of stuck. I have several options and wanted to see if anyone else has ever had similar experiences.

1) I could stay in NH and do the commute to Boston (either driving to Lowell and taking the T or driving all the way there. Drawbacks: 1.5 hours each way, positives: cheaper cost of living, don't have to move twice, i know people here from my current work.

2) Move to Boston and then move again in 12-18 months. I dislike moving so often since I can never feel settled if I know I'm leaving in a year but this might be better then the commutes. Drawbacks: High cost of living, having to move twice. positives: short commute, living in a big city.

3) move to Providence or another area of RI and buy a condo/home then take the T from there to Boston until the group moves. I'd be looking to spend around $300K for a condo so I can't afford the new "luxury" apartments they're building but I think I could get something decent (right?). How has the soft housing market affected Providence? Can you pick up a good deal? Drawbacks: 1 hour comute, not knowing people in the city. positives: only have to move once, building equity in a condo.

How hard is it to meet new people in Providence?

I know there are a lot of questions in this post. Any advice people can provide would be much appreciated.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

the commute to boston on the T from providence would be the same time to commute from southern NH.