# 1 Priority: Move I-91, Reclaim Park River

grock

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It's easier than ever. We have two senior Democratic senators and a Democratic senate. Congressman John Larson is a high ranking house member in the Democratic controlled House.

They should be able to get federal funds, as Kerry and Kennedy were for the Big Dig in Boston.

The Connecticut congressional committee is one of the least effective on the hill. Connecticut usually pays muchmore in federal taxes than it brings home. By some measues is the biggest loser when it comes to federal funds.

The states that get the most usually have two parties in play.

Connectucut is a very wealthy state. It makes sense that CT would pay more in taxes than it gets back from the federal government.

I'm an urban planning student and I'm writing a paper on the subject of how to deal with riverfront highways. It is very rare for a city to dismantle a freeway; Portland, OR, San Francisco, and Minneapolis MN have done it, and Seattle is considering it.

One of the differences between Providence and Hartford is that Providence never had an expressway built blocking access from its downtown to its waterfront. Most of Providence's downtown work was around removing the coverings over the Providence River.

Dealing with Hartford is a much bigger challenge because of I-91. I don't know if Hartford could pull off a Big Dig-like tunnel construction. That would be ideal. I think it would be great if we could at least partly bury it, then cover it over with parkland. It might look like a small levee from the outside.

Which means what, exactly? That nobody could ever embark on a similar project without fear of the same corruption?