Flipping a house in GR

Kayak1

O.K. planeteers, I have been approached about purchasing a house in GR and flipping it. I am trying to find the best area of GR to do that and was also wondering if there are any grants from the city to rehab homes. Any info or advice would be great. I have never done this before and I am a little leary. Thanks in advance.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
O.K. planeteers, I have been approached about purchasing a house in GR and flipping it. I am trying to find the best area of GR to do that and was also wondering if there are any grants from the city to rehab homes. Any info or advice would be great. I have never done this before and I am a little leary. Thanks in advance.

You could also get in for a reasonable price, and take some time to do upgrades. There are 'hoods with lots of FS signs out front of great bones.

(One caveat: get 'er done. Don't be like my "hot shot investor" landlord who rips a roof apart in August and gets it repaired, only with city prodding, in November.)

Not a good time to flip. But like others said, it's a great time to "buy and hold". There are quite a few landlords with multiple properties having trouble finding renters, who are looking to unload. They don't have the emotional attachment to the home either, so they will probably give a better deal.

Also, I'm not sure if this thread violates the "buying real estate" rule of UrbanPlanet. I'll have to consult the big book of rules.

I do not think there would be a worse time for buying, renovating, and re-selling a home (I destest it being called "flipping a house"). Our research shows right now that there is a 48 month supply of homes on the market right now.