A Developers Education

Grand Rapidian

I was wondering, what sort of education background a majority of the developers have? I want to get into land development focused more on urban redevelopment (TOD and such) than sprawl development. I am a civil engineering student looking at getting a masters of business as well. What other studies would be useful? Any minors or certifications? I have been hearing that a background in LEED can give an applicant the edge on a lot of jobs for a number of reasons. What kind of internship or co-op opportunities would be a great benefit?

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

When I was living in Philly, there were a few Developers who had their AICP and AIA certifications. It was a significant asset when going before a Zoning Board, Planning Commission, or City Council, and helped to give credibility (since it is not a walk in the park to get the accreditations) when trying to solicit funding.

(AICP is the American Institute of Certified Planners) http://www.planning.org/aicp/

(AIA is the American Institute of Architects) http://www.aia.org/

However, regardless of education, I think real world hands on experience is the best tool for success. The biggest thing is having the ability to form a great idea, find out if your idea is possible (some local and state regulations may say otherwise), and having the ability to sell your idea to investors, the media, and consumers.

It all depends on the direction that you want to go, but seeing the potential that a specific property has in relation to the potential that the surrounding properties have is one of the most important characteristics of a good developer. Fortunately, there are several of them in Grand Rapids and the surrounding areas.