Arizona's Education Standards

MJLO

Arizona children, are not given the best prospects for the future. Especially when put up agains other states. I have only lived in AZ for a little under a year. I do however have brothers enrolled in Arizona high schools. I have to say, I was blown away at what I percieve as low education standards. I think I took for granted how much of a pain in the ass it was to attend a high school in Michigan, which has either the highest, or one of the highest standards for education in the country.

The

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I moved from Hawaii to Arizona in 1989 to start my sophomore year in high school. While in Hawaii I was getting a C average, in Arizona I was able to get a B average with less work. As a student, I loved it!

You can use NAEP's state assessment comparison tool here to compare the 50 states, District of Columbia and schools on military bases (DoDEA): http://nces.ed.gov/nationsreportcard/nde/statecomp/

Some highlights from the 2005 results:

8th graders were #36 in the nation (out of 52) for math and #44 for reading.

4th graders were #48 for math and #48 for reading.

Arizona was 49th in educational funding last year, just above Mississippi. It's not just the public schools either, but also the public universities. The tuition and class sizes at both ASU and UA are getting ridiculous.

Instead of being so insistent on funding more highways for Phoenix, I've never understand why the legislature refuses to throw more money at education. I heard a thing on NPR this morning from some education expert complaining about how they'd like to reform "No Child Left Behind" because, mainly, there was never any money allocated to support the program, so you get awful public schools like you have here.