Norfolk Civic/Government issues

vdogg

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What the hell was wrong with Daun Hester anyway? She seemed to do an excellent job to me and was a very non-controversial figure.

I'm not sure. I see her around all the time. She did things without evoking racial comments. Riddick is just trying to stir the hornets nest. There is no compromise and he makes everything into a racial issue even when there is nothing racial about it. We need to move foward and not live in the 60's. Hester is alot better vice mayor than Riddick could ever be.

I'm tired of his "bs". I'm writing a letter to council and to the pilot. As a norfolk resident, i'm completely embarassed by his actions and its clear to me that he is only out to serve his black constituents when we need members to look out for the greater good of all Norfolk citizens! Its time for him to step down!

I would not say that Mr. Riddick's rhetoric adequately represents his black constituents, but rather that it generally panders to an uneducated, politically ignorant segment of black society that, not always without reason, sees their relationship with predominantly-white authority as mutually antagonistic but woefully lopsided in terms of the distribution of power and resources. Of course, there is occasionally some truth behind the basic gist of Mr. Riddick's words but more often he presents a far more explicit racism than those he accuses.

I would not say that Mr. Riddick's rhetoric adequately represents his black constituents, but rather that it generally panders to an uneducated, politically ignorant segment of black society that, not always without reason, sees their relationship with predominantly-white authority as mutually antagonistic but woefully lopsided in terms of the distribution of power and resources. Of course, there is occasionally some truth behind the basic gist of Mr. Riddick's words but more often he presents a far more explicit racism than those he accuses.