Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

monsoon

What was the worst job you ever held

23 posts in this topic

Amost everyone has had a bad or tough job they didn't like. What was yours?

Construction building turkey and chicken houses (the big long ones...) in Union County in the middle of the summer.

chopping up frozen chickens in a small closet, with a DULL block knife, in an indian restaurant in durham, nc. i was a prep cook there for about 4 months... they were some of the longest months. i had to cut up a bag of onions every other day - in that same closet. this was about 9 yrs ago... i haven't been able to shed a tear since.

Packing computers in boxes in a warehouse where they were repaired.....each computer was different so I had to custom-cut the foam blocks to hold the computers...it was both mindnumbingl and tedious.

Or, working for Charlotte-DOT for several month...it was equally mindnumbing.

My worst job was working in a tobacco field in the summer heat. Dirty nasty stuff.

Stacking wood at the end of the rough mill line at an interior finish trim mill I worked at a while ago had to be my worst job. Imagine stacking splinter laden rough lumber of varying widths up to 16 feet long and up to 2" thick by 12" wide onto carts at a very fast pace for hours on end. Added to that, the stock had to be organized by width on a row of up to six metal carts, more in some of the larger runs, which spanned a walking distance of up to 25 feet. It was really meant to be a job for two people. But the company heads where penny pinching hoarders that kept the plant down to a skeletal crew to cut costs. There is nothing like a constant pain in my right shoulder and my right knee to remember that f-en' crap job by. <_<