Kids running wild in public spaces

Charlotteman

Today I had a disturbing experience at the local post office. I went in and there were a few people in line ahead of me. I quickly noted that two young children --I would say 3 and 5 years old, were running all over the place.

I couldn't tell who their parents were, and it turned out their mom was at the postal window completely oblivious to her kids. They tried to go inside an office. They began to run up and down the marble stairs leading to the main postal floor. I became very very concerned about them falling and hitting their heads on the marble steps.

So I finally alerted the mom about what was happening. She was cavalier which upset me. I kind of lost it and told her she needed to take better care of her kids. Then she got defiant and told me to worry about myself. I didn't let it go for a second. I kept on admonishing her as she walked out the door muttering defensive comments to me.

I am a nurse, and I'll be damned if I am going to stand there and watch kids in dangerous situations, while their negligent parents ignore them.

Another thing that concerned me is that the kids were well out of sight to anyone in the post office. A sick twisted maniac could have grabbed those kids before anyone even knew what happened. Very disturbing.

Has anything similar ever happened to you?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply