Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Nolli

The Map Thread!

24 posts in this topic

sorry, it is a great idea. Just too cold right now and icy and dark! WBNA actually has a cool business mappy thing called The West Side Guide....I just checked but it isn't online.

hey there.

i designed the map. haha, dont worry, as a graphic designer i get alot of criticism and dont take it personally.

BUT- wondering, does anyone have any suggestions for improvement?

i mean, the addresses are on there, right? even given the colors AND addresses, you couldnt find businesses??

it would be IMPOSSIBLE to place each and every business in its location on that map given the size. the size was dictated by cost of printing.

lately ive been designing LOTS of maps, its a hard challenge; constructive comments welcome.

The West Side Guide is a great idea, but is also utterly useless...

Let's say I am a visitor to the West Side, and am hungry. I go to "FOOD", and get a name and address of something that sounds good. Only the color code gives me a rough clue as to where it is, which puts me within a 6- or 8- block radius. Fine if I am on a Situationist-style "derive" and want to experience randomness, but quite aggravating if I am hungry.

Not all of the street names are on there, either...

I hate to complain, but when I picked it up I thought I could learn something new about the West Side neighborhood(s).

hey there.

i designed the map. haha, dont worry, as a graphic designer i get alot of criticism and dont take it personally.

BUT- wondering, does anyone have any suggestions for improvement?

i mean, the addresses are on there, right? even given the colors AND addresses, you couldnt find businesses??

it would be IMPOSSIBLE to place each and every business in its location on that map given the size. the size was dictated by cost of printing.

lately ive been designing LOTS of maps, its a hard challenge; constructive comments welcome.