Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GRDadof3

Gateway Charter School to close

13 posts in this topic

Since this came up in another thread, thought we could start a thread on this specifically:

Gateway charter school to close

Does anyone think this might have to do with GRPS's new facilities drawing some families back from the charter schools?

Anyway, nice site and nice building. About 20,000 square feet, used to be a department store. Sits on about 1.2 acres. Sale price in 2004 was $1.6 Million. Gateway will be out by the end of the year.

Yeah, I know, Trader Joe's or Whole Foods. But really, what would be a good fit here?

Well its a little bit too far south to be home to a Whole foods/Trader Joe's IMPO.

I think it would be great as apartments.

That's a bummer. I was a student of the first class at Gateway when it first opened. (It was inside Mackie's World at the time)

I think it would make a great place for a market, maybe even with outdoor produce stands in the Summer. It certainly has a lot of parking, both on-site and on the street. Maybe the people GRTP was talking about might radar in on this. I wonder even if a Horrock's might be a good user.

I'm sorry, but I can't say that I'm sad to see a charter school close. They did nothing to fix the education system problems we have, and just plunged GRPS into bigger trouble.

I'm sorry, but I can't say that I'm sad to see a charter school close. They did nothing to fix the education system problems we have, and just plunged GRPS into bigger trouble.

Here's the aerial of the property. I think the proposed Gaslight Village streetcar shows it running on Lafayette.

396449217_8bfadc8f07_o.jpg