Is Publix ever coming to Charlotte?

ChrissieCM

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I love Publix. I went to the stores all the time when I lived on Hilton Head and in Charleston. I like Harris Teeter a lot but the Publix bakery and bread section puts HT to shame. But seeing as how Charlotte is the seat of the ever expanding HT empire I don't think Publix could make it here.

I love Publix. I went to the stores all the time when I lived on Hilton Head and in Charleston. I like Harris Teeter a lot but the Publix bakery and bread section puts HT to shame. But seeing as how Charlotte is the seat of the ever expanding HT empire I don't think Publix could make it here.

I worked as a consultant to HT's expansion in North Georgia in the early 90s. Their vp in change of new markets made it clear that they were expanding into GA to attempt to block publix. We all know how that effort turned out (Publix is now the dominant chain in most of metro N. Georgia). While I have no first hand information about their curent strategy their behavior in Charlotte is consistent with a 'prevent strategy' in blocking new arrivals (particulalry publix) into the market place by consuming every available location for a high end store (e.g. two stores within 1/4 mile in South CLT).

Friends, if you've ever been inside a Publix, you know that HT would be running scared if a move into the Charlotte market looked immanent. I lived in Florida for many years, where Publix is king, and I can attest that there is nothing like Publix bakery. There is also no grocery chain in Florida that can compete with Publix service-wise. Excellence in the retail grocery industry second to none. What a COUP it would be for Charlotte to get Ritz Carlton AND Publix!