The Permitting Process in Charlotte-Mecklenburg

charlotte49ersuptown

This topic has come up at several meetings I have been to and in my research on housing. Again and again, developers in Charlotte complain that the permitting process is too long, outdated, and down right sucks. Many incentive based programs across the country offer streamlined permitting as an incentive. This leads me to believe that it is a national problem and not specific to Charlotte. Not being a developer, I am unaware of the steps that need to be taken even for a small project. Can anyone shed some light, especially developers or contractors, on what steps would need to be taken to streamline permitting in Charlotte. I know that since urban developments have been on the rise, it seems the permitting process has yet to adapt to the new kinds of buildings and designs. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My biggest complaint about the Charlotte permitting process is that they will not issue conditional approvals. Even the smallest comments on construction plans can cause another 30 day review. Also, I'm not sure what the deal is, but the comments from the city have been very inconsistent. I'll get a very general comment on one job, apply it to another, and get a complete different comment. They need to set better guidelines as to what they expect in a set of construction documents.

However, on a positive note, Charlotte's review process is much more lax than Cary's. I've never done work in a district as pretentious as Cary, and from my experience and talking to others, it takes forever to get a job approved.

I will say that I am at least happy that the process is not too lax. We would end up looking a lot like Atlanta or Houston if that were the case. (No offense to those that are from there, I just prefer better planned cities)

A2