Cell Phones

tamias6

Since I'm new to cell phones and after being forced to make my phone calls from the roof of a Parking Ramp yesterday due to bad signal. I'm wondering what cell phone carriers work best and provides good service. I prefer prepay as contracts tend to make me nervous.

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I contracted with T-mobile. The service in the SE and NW sides isn't all that great. I heard Nextel and that guy who says, "Can you hear me now? -- Good!" provides decent service in the Metro area. I'm not sure if those two companies offer pay as you go.

I have Nextel and would not recommend it unless you are in an industry that basically requires you to use/have Nextel such as construction. I think the coverage is absolutely horrible. Millions into NASCAR and there are places on I-96, I-196, US-131 in the greater GR area that have zero signal. Pure garbage if you ask me.

Nextel on a Blackberry.

I think their service and coverage has improved greatly since the merger with Sprint, and I hear it's still evolving. There's a dead spot on I-196 near the zoo, but otherwise it's much better than it used to be.

Just don't go to da UP. eh?

I have Cingular/AT&T for personal, and found it to be iffy on Heritage Hill. For two years I had to stand in the street to make a call.

Work phone is Alltel, and its coverage seems to be much stronger throughout the city. (But that's on about ten calls per month.)

Someone mentioned Nextel's coverage issues. When I was a contractor for them, my group was required to obtain their phones. What a joke...we were putting up cell sites in zero coverage areas, and the client was preventing us from talking to each other! I've also experienced their complete absence of coverage for a week on vacation (southern Ohio).

Good luck getting decent info out of sales folk. They'll send you a coverage map showing the entire midwest. You can reduce that big orange blob by about 10% for more accurate coverage detail.