Seven City, VA

jessd06

Greetings,

I have a copy of an email that was sent into all the Hampton Roads City Councils by someone I work with. This person is interested in hearing others thought on this particular position. The email is from a 26 year old male, I thought it was important to let you know the perspective he is speaking from. All feedback is welcome good or bad, I want to report what others in the area are thinking. Please see below... Thanks for your time.

---------

Greetings Council Members:

I am a resident of Virginia Beach, VA but I have a message for all Council

Members in all of the Hampton Roads cities. It has long been said that

the Council Members of most cities are not in tune and do not listen to

the words from their residents. Whether that is fact or fiction; I think

it is important that I let all of you know that the youth of this area

have a vision and we have a detailed plan to create more opportunities.

Most young adults in Hampton Roads feel that our area is lacking in many

aspects of social life that cater to the age group 18

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I like the idea and often thought that the name "Seven Cities" was far more catching and representative of our area than HR. I don't know if I like "Seven City" though. I think it's important to keep the plural form of the nickname. It's more descriptive of the character of our region. We definately need to have something that provides our region a bit more connection. The only problem I can see is that there are actually more than 7 cities in the Hampton Roads MSA, the nickname is just for the core cities of Virginia Beach, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Portsmouth. Cities like Wiiliamsburg/Poqouson et al may feel shunned.