Careers

Captain Worley

What have you done, career-wise, in the past, and where do you want to go in the future?

For me:

1989-1992 Vehicle Engineer

1992-1995 Air to air missiles engineer

1996-2001 Product/Manufacturing/Testing/Development engineer

2003-2005 Drafting teacher for HS/Tech school/prison students

2005-present Plans examiner

As for the future, wherever the wind blows me. I have a masters degree in mechanical enggineering and plan to go no higher. I am taking my PE exam this fall. I'd like to learn Spanish, too, after I pass the PE.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Currently I work for an architecture firm that does higher end design work on government buildings, hotels, and larger industrial facilities. I've been working here for a year, and I love it.

I will be graduating with my bachelors in architecture this April, but I'm going back next year to school to get a degree in urban planning. So I'm expecting a career change very soon. That is, unless I hate urban planning, and switch back to architecture.

I've bounced around since I've been in college:

2005-2006: UAB Blazer Bookstore while volunteering for the Greater Birmingham Regional Planning Commission as a surveyor

2006-Now, but leaving in the 2 weeks to back to University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB): East Alabama Regional Planning and Development Commission

However, I have grown to hate working at rural area planning organizations because it is basically the same ole, same ole. I now know for a fact that I am made for major urban areas only because I hate areas with a lack of activity. I am dread going to work because there is absolutely nothing for me to do there.

Retail management, office management, a buyer and a project manager for a distribution company, and a semi-professional musician (some touring and a business set-up, but no money). On the side, a very little bit of writing.