Recommended Reading

Southron

I saw a similar thread elsewhere at UP and thought this would be a good one for us here at UP{sodEmoji.{sodEmoji.|}}Alabama. What books would you recommend that we all read?

---

I'll start out on-topic with three books that had a profound effect on my layman's understanding of urbanism and the state of our built environment:

Duany, Andres, Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, and Jeff Speck. Suburban Nation: The Rise of Sprawl and the Decline of the American Dream. New York: North Point Press, 2000.

Jacobs, Jane. The Death and Life of Great American Cities. New York: Random House, 1961.

Kunstler, James Howard. The Geography of Nowhere: The Rise and Decline of America's Man-made Landscape. New York: Touchstone, 1994.

Check 'em out if you haven't already. :thumbsup:

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've read the first two books but I haven't read Kunstler's book. When I was a undergrad I had an email discussion with Kuntsler that turned into multi-paged incoherent ramblings on his part. To me he comes off as an alarmist, self-righteous, jackass.

I think many people spend too much time reading books on urbanism than actually going to the places and seeing good vs. bad for themselves.

I would recommend all to read Alabama in the Twenieth Century by Auburn Univerity Political Science professor, Wayne Flynt. It gives you all the insite into why this state culture is so unique and screwed up in some many areas, and who is keeping this place from being true potential.

I've read the first two books but I haven't read Kunstler's book. When I was a undergrad I had an email discussion with Kuntsler that turned into multi-paged incoherent ramblings on his part. To me he comes off as an alarmist, self-righteous, jackass.

I think many people spend too much time reading books on urbanism than actually going to the places and seeing good vs. bad for themselves.

• 1 month later...