Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sammy00

My First Post

6 posts in this topic

What's up guys?

First of all I'd like to say, I'M SO HAPPY I FOUND YOU !!!

I'm currently a student at the UofA majoring in Communications, and a former resident of Benton, Arkansas.

I have always possessed a strange "super interest" in the type of things this board discusses (regional growth, populations, reputations, big cities, skylines, you name it), but only now have I found a place to discuss these things and learn more about them. Thanks !

---

Well, I have read a few posts on this site concerning the traffic in NWA and what should be done, and I have noticed that not all, but many believe in the expansion of I-540.

This for me raises a few concerns (which are hopefully not ignorant due to my lack of experience here).

First of all, I believe the expansion of 540 would be great for NWA, however, I am not sure it is the best way to go at this point in time.

I, for one, favor the idea of the new highway west of Fayetteville for a few reasons.

My first concern is that adding a few more lanes to 540 will increase traffic in what are already horrendously crowded intersections and on ramps in the three other cities (i.e. Sixth St onto 540 in Fayetteville, and Wedington onto 540 in Fayetteville).

I see traffic in those areas being almost as big an issue as the 540 traffic, and building a new highway West of the city would help alleviate some of that.

Also, and probably my biggest concern, is that I witnessed first hand the absolute chaos Central Arkansas was in when construction on I-30 was ongoing. It, of course, is paying dividends now, but during the time of construction, we couldn't even get any relatives to our house because they didn't want to have to put up with the mess. It was a long, and grueling process, which made traffic worse and more dangerous for a good year and a half.