Urban Planning

detwaa84

Currently my major is Architecture at UDM, but I want to change it to urban planning. Does anyone have any info or is an urban planner or student of this program at Wayne State or other colleges. I would like some advice and input on it before starting this fall. I would appreciate it.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I just graduated with a degree in architecture and I'm going to grad school at U of M in urban planning, but I know nothing about the program. Way for me to be prepared!

nofunk is going into the same program as well next year, but I have a feeling he hasn't read much more than I have.

Engineer! Architect! I could have been either, but my nightmare (calculas) came in the way. I failed the classs twice in OCC and once at UDM. I had to change my major. That's why I choose urban planning. I just hope that I don't deal with math there.

If you get into the more technical areas of planning -- civil engineering, transportation planning, urban design -- you will certainly deal with math, probably including calculus. But if you concentrate on things like community development, land use, housing, etc., then you'll probably be OK.

nofunk - so I do have an option? I mean I thought an urban planning program is just one, whatever is required is required. I understand what you mean, but looking at college catologs I don't see an option between the technical aspect and the general aspect. For example, Eastern's is a 36 credit major and 20 credit minor in GIS or Historic Preservation. Statistics is the required math class though.

If we're talking undergrad, then no, you might not have a choice of concentration. In that case you really need to read through the departmental requirements. They should spell out what math courses, if any, are required for the degree.