World's tallest in KC?

ShowMeKC

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

17 million sf? That's crazy, that's more than three times Mall of America or West Edmonton Mall! I don't know how they're going to fit that much retail without tapping every mall in the area. Sounds like another DestiNY USA in Syracuse. What happened to that? I guess to be fair, it has better links than Syracuse (ie air, rail), and a bigger nearby population. As a former Shawnee resident, I think it would be kinda neat, but the whole concept seems a little too early 90s for me.

Hehe now the Business Journal and KC Star columnist Kevin Collission are making fun of it (Kevin isn't making fun of it, but he will talk about how impossible it is)

This won't happen b/c of the developer itself. Not because of Kansas City or it's location.

2015 feet? I thought the FAA had a nationwide height restriction of 2000 feet.

I will give my $.02 about the source....

In my experience, I have found Globe Street to be unreliable. They reported in December that the new downtown Detroit movie theater was already open and showing movies. The thing is, it's still under construction, and won't open until later this year. Globe Street also doesn't know the difference between the David Whitney Building and the David Broderick Tower. They also reported last week that the deal for renovating the Book-Cadillac Hotel was complete, and that renovation is under way. In reality, the deal is far from complete, and renovations are not under way. There have been other things too. Maybe they are better on KC stories than they are on Detroit ones, but I doubt it. I realize that all news can't be 100% accurate, but the reporting on GlobeSt.com is a joke! I'll believe it when I see a story on the proposal from a more reliable source.

Well I emailed them and am still awaiting a concept plan....