Water park resort to be built

Neo

In the Charlotte Observer this morning was an announcement of a new water park resort that will start construction later this year but the location is still being decided. The two options the company is exploring is Fort Mill and between LMS and Concord Mills. I'm new to the idea of water park resorts and knew nothing about their existance before today's announcement and I'm not sure how I stand on it. You apparently can only go to the water park if you are staying at the resort which would in essence lock out Charlotte area residents from this amenity.

I'm not sure what the draw would be for putting this in Fort Mill considering it would not draw much from local area residents and instead of others traveling here and choosing to stay at the resort. There seem to be quite a few of this type of resort around the country so it wouldn't exactly be a one of a kind attraction that pulls people from all over. The only way I could see this really succeeding is to put it near LMS and attract visitors to the races and other attractions around that immediate area.

Has anyone here ever stayed at a water park resort? Does anyone know how successful these things are in cities of comparable size to ours?

Link to article

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hmmm...well, Fort Mill is already serviced by Carowinds in terms of having a water park. Is there a water park in the Concord area? Fort Mill is less congested but won't have the tourist element of Concord.

The only water park I'm aware of in the area since Heritage closed is Carowinds. Am I missing something about their potential placement in Fort Mill?

This does look like a fun place, especially the Howlin Tornado ride. As a local resident it does suck that you have to stay at the hotel to enjoy the waterpark though :(

Something I am wondering is how Concord's "water wars" will affect this resort. Does Concord have the water capacity for this place...and what happens in a drought?