Silver Line Question

nowyano

I have been riding the Silver Line for a little under two years now to my job in South Boston. To say that I am mildly dissapointed with the service, and the fact that it is a bus and not a train is a mild understatement. So I am curious as to what logistical problems (other than money) in (a) Changing the Silver Line to light rail, (b) Changing the route making one or two stops in the industrial park, connecting to City Point, and possibly one other southie location (maybe at the end of L Street near the beach) and then possibly going under the water to a location at Logan.

Yeah I know it would probabably be cost prohibitive, but I think it might be worth the cost if only to get stops in Southie (other than Andrews) and to have a better route to Logan than to take the bloody bus from South Station into the highway which is what most people are trying to avoid by taking public transportation.

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is a bit of a rambling post as I'm getting over a massive sinus infection and my brain just isn't 100% functional just yet, but I hope I provide some answers:

First of all, you have to understand that while the riding public overwhelmingly prefer trains to buses, the MBTA management (who famously do not use public transportation) prefer buses to a rather amazing degree. This is at the core of why the line uses buses and will be using buses for the foreseeable future.

Take for example the Arborway line. Very popular, but passive-agressively eliminated in opposition to prevailing public opinion.

Or the A-Line. Shut down for 11 weeks for a "temporary suspension" in 1969, never to reopen. Businesses and residents begged the MBTA to reopen it at least to Oak Square, which they almost did in the 1980s, but the T decided the 57 bus was good enough and riders flocked to the B-Line, overburdening it to the point of near-collapse.