Going on a trip, need some assist

Hey all, I'll be going to D.C. with my wife in August and wondered where the good urban exploring places are. I'll have basically a whole day to myself while she attends a conference, so I'll be in "walking-shoes photo-mode". Looking for great walkable commercial districts, entertainment districts, classic architecture (other than the governmental offices and monuments), historic neighborhoods near downtown, interesting new architecture, the usual. It's my first time to D.C., so any assist would be great! :camera: I don't mind walking for miles, even in the heat. :tough:

I don't know where we're staying yet, but it will be downtown (as opposed to Virginia or suburban D.C.).

Always on the hunt for great ideas.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hey all, I'll be going to D.C. with my wife in August and wondered where the good urban exploring places are. I'll have basically a whole day to myself while she attends a conference, so I'll be in "walking-shoes photo-mode". Looking for great walkable commercial districts, entertainment districts, classic architecture (other than the governmental offices and monuments), historic neighborhoods near downtown, interesting new architecture, the usual. It's my first time to D.C., so any assist would be great! :camera: I don't mind walking for miles, even in the heat. :tough:

Always on the hunt for great ideas.

I live in the Dupont Circle area- lots of restaurants and shops around here. Georgetown is a great area to walk in- especially for Federal and VVictorian architecture. When you know where you wil be staying, send me a message so I can give you more detailed advice. I know lots of restaurants too. I think you will enjoy D.C..