New Urbanism in a Sports Facility?

Good day everyone.. I need your opinions and expert comments on this one..

I'm an Architecture student :rolleyes: .. I'd like to gain knowledge about New Urbanism and its adaptive applications in terms of other projects rather than planning public spaces and communities.

Is "New Urbanism" applicable in designing a sports facility/athlete's community, just like an integrated Athlete's Training Complex (swimming, athletics, martial arts etc.) and Dormitory Complex?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Good day everyone.. I need your opinions and expert comments on this one..

I'm an Architecture student :rolleyes: .. I'd like to gain knowledge about New Urbanism and its adaptive applications in terms of other projects rather than planning public spaces and communities.

Is "New Urbanism" applicable in designing a sports facility/athlete's community, just like an integrated Athlete's Training Complex (swimming, athletics, martial arts etc.) and Dormitory Complex?

University of Cincinnati kind of comes to mind from what you are describing. Although it does have public spaces for the whole community, it really is all centered around the athletics. I have photos, and when I find them, I will post them here.

Not exactly what you're talking about, but some professional sports facilities have broken with the recent tradition of building stadiums among a sea of parking lots, and instead are better integrated with existing neighborhoods, and more accessible by transit and pedestrians.

I haven't been there, but as I understand it PETCO Park in San Diego is a good example of this trend...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PETCO_Park

• 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Good topic. As we speak, I have been working on a land use plan for a district with a possible MLS stadium. There are a tone of elements, and it is a redevelopment project. Its been very challenging, but fun at the same time.