Your thoughts on Hampton Roads/Tidewater/7cities

7citiesVA

Hi, I am a new member, but pretty familiar with the site/forum. I have visited this website on a daily basis for the past six months to get the latest news on development, and have just now decided to join so i can start giving my 2 cents. I am a soon to be graduate of Norfolk State University (B.S. Accounting) who was born & raised in Norfolk/Va Beach. I love living here and I have so much pride being from here. I think we are the heart and soul of Virginia.

.....with that aside.......

The question i have for the moment is more concerned with the culture of Hampton Roads/Tidewater/7 cities (as we younger folks call it) and less about development, so i hope im posting this in the correct place. If not im sorry, and im pretty sure one of the mods will move it.

In visiting this site/forum and reading some posts, i have become pretty intrigued by peoples different viewpioints towards our area. Our area is so unique, that there is really no one way to describe it. We have a little bit of everything, and are a bit of everything. (northern, southern, city-ish, suburb-ish, country)................I personally feel we are a southern metro (VA is the south) with a mix of an east coast aura/vibe. Our setup and cities are sort of like the 5 boroughs of New York where each has its own identity and feel to it.

so my question is...If a person with no knowledge of Hampton Roads (and there are many) were to ask you to describe it, what would you say?

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 2 weeks later...

I'd call it a cul-de-sack off of i95, which is effectively a dead end.

Full of urban sprawl, no real identity. Some nice museums, worth a visit. Not a great place for jobs, technology, or the future. Little more than support for the military bases.

I'd call it a cul-de-sack off of i95, which is effectively a dead end.