New to LR, need some info

dhgunit

I'm new to LR and will be going to UALR.

I am moving into The Grove at Pleasant Valley in West LR and I need to find a roommate. Any tips about where to look?

Also, what are the bad parts of town and where are the fun parts of town.

Thanks!

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks, lots of good stuff there.

I already plan on going to the Arkansas vs. Mississippi St. game, the Clinton Library, and check out the bars downtown. It sounds like the nightlife is pretty good in LR.

Where is Pinnacle Mountain? Also, I used to hear that North Little Rock wasn't a very good place to be, i guess that is changing.

Thanks, lots of good stuff there.

I already plan on going to the Arkansas vs. Mississippi St. game, the Clinton Library, and check out the bars downtown. It sounds like the nightlife is pretty good in LR.

Where is Pinnacle Mountain? Also, I used to hear that North Little Rock wasn't a very good place to be, i guess that is changing.

Welcome to LR. Reiterating a bit...

As far as areas to avoid, we are fortunate in that the areas that you want to stay away from in general are areas you have no reason to visit anyway. West of I-430 and north of I-630 everything is as clean and safe as you could find elsewhere. The sketchy areas tend to be all be south of this - Southwest LR (Baseline, Chicot, Geyer Springs, 65th), the Central High area, the Barrow Road area, and some of the areas south of downtown and near the airport. The only real points of interest in these areas you would probably go to at some point are the State Fairgrounds/Barton Coliseum and Central High. Most of the areas around UALR are fine but there's little reason to go south of Asher or up and down Asher.