M-6 Non-Motorized Trail

Raildudes dad

The Road Commission survey crew started today staking the new trail for construction. Phase 1 will be from Kent Trails easterly on the north side of M6 to Clyde Park and southerly to 68th Street on the west side of Clyde Park. Grading will be done this fall. Paving will be next spring. Phase 2 from Division to the Paul Henry Trail at Wing Ave is currently under design by URS with construction tentatively scheduled for next summer. Once Phase 2 design is complete, design of the missing piece will begin. Depending on how that design goes, construction of Phase 3 could begin next summer but most likely will be Sumer of 2009 and include a bridge over Division Ave.

Interesting side note, I'm a civil engineer managing the trail project for the Road Commission. My daughter is a civil engineer for URS doing the design work for the project. It's pretty neat working on a unique project (trail inside the MDOT limited access right of way) with my daughter :thumbsup:

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This is encouraging - but it underscores the need for visionary planning for things other than motor vehicles. I can't speak for other townships, but I know we here in Plainfield are working feverishly on a township-wide "non-motorized-connectivity" (trails/sidewalks) master plan. I've been beating the drum for a few years now that we should connect anything, everything and everyone to the White Pine Trail somehow (since it dissects our township almost perfectly from SW to NE). Our aspirations include connections to Ada, Cannon and Algoma Townships as well as trails westward and southward. I hope this notion finds some sort of fruition 20 years from now...