Richmond Housing

rad707

Hey guys,

After searching through the existing threads, I wasn't able to find any info directly related to a big issue I have.

In the matter of weeks I'm moving my family to Richmond. Given I lived there for two years while a grad student at VCU, I'm dead set on moving into the Fan.

I'm selling a house here in Austin at a great time. There are still bidding wars going on in the central city; people seem to be ignoring what is going on elsewhere.

To that end, I've been paying close attention to the Fan pricing for a few months. It doesn't seem to be moving, but it also seems to be way overpriced...by 20 or 30 bucks a square foot.

Given you guys live there, what have you been seeing? I can't find any real information on the subject - my realtor in Richmond is painting a glowing portrait (as she should) and the Times Dispatch is, well, the Times Dispatch. They can't seem to write anything of substance.

Let me know what you think about pricing. Bubble bursting? Probably not. But should I wait 6 months and rent for now? Something tells me prices will go down another 40-50k per Fan house given there are so many on the market (many that seem to have been sitting there for a while).

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Let me know what you think about pricing. Bubble bursting? Probably not. But should I wait 6 months and rent for now? Something tells me prices will go down another 40-50k per Fan house given there are so many on the market (many that seem to have been sitting there for a while).