Huntsville needs an amusement park

Memphis77

I am a resident of Huntsville and the one thing I have always wondered is why this city (a hidden gem) has not pushed for an amusement park to be built in the form of Six Flags or Dollywood or even the now closed Libertyland in Memphis? There's a whole lot of land in this city to build a state of the art theme park with steel roller coasters and thrill rides and a variety of shows. A theme park would bring in millions of tourist dollars per year and put Huntsville on the national map for tourism. The economy would skyrocket. Hotels, retail, and dining would be in overload demand and the job rates would go way up. Especially for construction. We would be known for more than just the US Space & Rocket Center as far as tourist attractions go. This city is growing rapidly and there is a strong need for entertainment in this city for the younger generation and for family outings. The fair is always a big hit here. So why not have a theme park to bring in 5-10 times as many visitors to the area?

Madison would be the ideal location along HW 20 West near the airport. There is miles and miles of city owned land just waiting to be used for development. Why has a theme park of some sort never been brought up by city council members or addressed to Mayor Spencer? This should be high on their "things to do or top priority" list to attract new visitors and tourists. I am wanting to write to the mayor and give her a proposal to look into such a massive project that would go down in history as a landmark development in the Huntsville area.

My dream theme park in the West Huntsville/Madison area would be a mixture of rides, games, shows, exhibits, petting zoo and eatery.

- 100-200 acre park.

- 15-30 rides from thrill rides for the young adults to kiddie rides for the children.

- 2 carousels

- 3 or 4 steel roller coasters.

- 4 Sky drop rides.