Do you compost?

Neo

Do you compost?  

15 members have voted

1. 1. Do you compost?

• Yes
    • No

I'm curious as to how many of you compost? For those of you who aren't familiar with the process, composting is the process of combining organic food scraps and other organic material (dirt, leaves, grass clippings, etc.) over the course of 12-18 months with an end result being a nutrition rich soil for your garden, plants, etc.

My wife and I have been composting for almost two years so far and have a noticeable decrease in the amount of trash we produce by doing so, not to mention that it is excellent for the environment and free to do so. There are a couple of different ways to go about the process. Our property backs up to a floodplain with woods and a creek thus we have room to keep several compost piles all in different stages of completion. We routinely go out to turn the piles and add a bit of water. Some may not be fortunate enough to have space to do it in this manner so in those cases you can purchase a compost bin with various degrees of fanciness and size.

*For more information on composting please visit the following (excellent) site: http://www.p2pays.org/compost/

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I do not compost, however i am currently looking into it.

I live in an apartment, but i do realize that i can still compost. I am not yet for several reasons.

1. Trying to figure out the best way to do it with VERY limited space.

2. Just recently started recycling, and my girlfriend is still warming up to it, so i need more time before dropping this bombshell on her.

3. The benefits of such(fresh mulch) are not as useful to me as it would be if i had a yard. I do have patio plants, but these require little soil.

4. (An extension of #1) I'm not sure which method would be best for me, and whether i should do it entirely indoors, entirely outdoors, or some of both.