I stopped Driving

wolverine

It's been two weeks so far, and I haven't driven my car. Why? Well for one it's boxed in by my housemates in the driveway. And even if it was in the parking lot nearby it still wouldn't work because the battery is dead, and we haven't taken the time to jump start it.

That's alright though.

I've realized just how easy it is not to drive. People know Ann Arbor as being pedestrian friendly, and our crowded sidewalks prove it. But asside from getting basic foods from the corner grocery, eating at our fine array of restaurants, and of course the interesting retail downtown, many of us need to do reach popular places in the suburbs such as Briarwood Mall, Meijer, Best Buy, etc and if you really want exaggerate -- North Campus. I've been able to reach all of these places. I started taking the bus more often which doesn't cost anything since I'm a student. Even if you aren't, it's still very cheap.

The ride out to Meijer and Briarwood is actually pretty quick. Both locations have stops right at their front door, so you won't get rained or snowed on while holding your groceries. The routes are efficient so it doesn't take too much longer than driving a car. Of course, I also take the U of M buses to North Campus. This is probably the worst of the experience though. It's not far to walk to the stop, but as we all know, many of the U of M buses are well over capacity to the point at which it is becoming dangerous. (I have many examples). Regardless, it's free and relatively quick. You don't have to worry about paying for parking, and it's nice to get some fresh air walking to the bus stop despite the cold weather.